yActivities Calendar

 

LEGEND FOR ACTIVITY LEVEL:

(P/M) PUBLIC AND MEMBERS

(M) MEMBERS ONLY

(L) LEISURE

(M) MODERATE

(S) STRENUOUS

Link to Downloadable PDF Version    Click here

ACTIVITIES 2016- 2017:   

Happy Hoofers
ACTIVITIES 2016-2017
DATE ACTIVITY LEVEL LEADERS
Participants Code: (MF) Members First-(MP) Members & Public - (M) Members Only
Activity Level Code: (L) Leisure (M) Moderate - (S) Strenuous
Sat 9/3/16 Florida Trail Ale Release Party 2-5 pm                26 Degree Brewing Company Pompano Beach honoring the 50th Anniversary of the Florida Trail MP/L Megan Digeon
954-829-8494
megandigeon@gmail.com
Thu9/8/16 Chapter Meeting
Fern Forest Nature Center
201 Lyons Rd. South, Coconut Creek, FL 33063
7:30 PM
MP/L Megan Digeon
954-829-8494
megandigeon@gmail.com
Sat 9/17/16 FTA Chapter Council meeting White Springs MP/L Lynn Thompson 954-850-3668 ma12thom@bellsouth.net  
Fri  9/23/16 to
Sun 9/25/16
FTA Skills Training Paisley FL                               for trail maintainers M/M Megan Digeon
954-829-8494
megandigeon@gmail.com
Sat 10/1/16 FTA Board meeting Lakeland MP/L Megan Digeon
954-829-8494
megandigeon@gmail.com
Sun 10/2/16 Bike Pepper Ranch Immokalee to see Sunflowers Limit 15 MP/M Esther Muram 954-658-8386 itailusa@gmail.com                   Janet Leasher 954-261-5836
janetleasher@hotmail.com
 
Thu 10/13/16 Chapter Meeting
Fern Forest Nature Center
201 Lyons Rd. South, Coconut Creek, FL 33063
7:30 PM
MP/L Megan Digeon
954-829-8494
megandigeon@gmail.com
Wed 10/19/16 Day hike Secret Woods                                          Fort Lauderdale MP/M Lynn Thompson 954-850-3668 ma12thom@bellsouth.net     Kathy Bonvouloir 954-234-5657
threebons@aol.com
Thu 10/20/16 to
Sun 10/23/16
FTA State Conference Deland  details at  www.floridatrail.org/fta50 MP/L Megan Digeon
954-829-8494
megandigeon@gmail.com
Sat 10/29/16 Day Hike to Carpenter Camp & scout for work hike - Limit 15 people MP/M Dick Ward 954-536-3289
wrddick@aol.com                    Esther Muram 954-658-8386 itailusa@gmail.com 
Sat 11/5/16 Day hike/bike Exploratory  Bike 5 mi to trailhead n/o crossover to Bundgchu Grade, hike 1.5 mi east on old ORV road to former camp Limit 10 M/S David Denham 305-667-8643  ddenham@consultant.com  Esther Muram 954-658-8386 itailusa@gmail.com
Thu11/10/16 Chapter Meeting
Fern Forest Nature Center
201 Lyons Rd. South, Coconut Creek, FL 33063
7:30 PM
MP/L Megan Digeon
954-829-8494
megandigeon@gmail.com
Sat 11/12/16 Fern Forest Nature Center Work Day
at Fern Forest Nature Center 201 Lyons Rd. South,
Coconut Creek, FL 33063
9:00 AM - 12:00 PM
MP/M Kathleen Bonvouloir                 954-234-5657       threebons@aol.com
Sun 11/13/16 Bike Key Biscayne Bill Baggs Cape Florida St. Pk visit Biscayne Nature Center, tour the lighthouse MP/M Kathy Bonvouloir 954-234-5657
threebons@aol.com                  Lynn Thompson954-850-3668
ma12thom@bellsouth.net
Fri 11/18/16 to
Sun 11/20/16
Work Hike Big Cypress Preserve Section II at MM 63 Basecamp at Nobles Campsite
 
MP/S Larry Alesi 561-445-9251 larrya1049@yahoo.com
David Denham 305-667-8643 ddenham@consultant.com
Thu 11/23/16 to
Sun 11/27/16
4 Days Canoe/Kayak on the Wakulla,Aucilla, St. Marks Rivers.
 
M/S   David Denham 305-667-8643  ddenham@consultant.com  Esther Muram 954-658-8386 itailusa@gmail.com
 
Wed 11/30/16 Day hike Riverbend Park      Jupiter MP/M Lynn Thompson 954-850-3668 ma12thom@bellsouth.net             Kathy Bonvouloir 954-234-5657
threebons@aol.com
Sat 12/3/16 Booth at the Swamp Heritage Festival Big Cypress Preserve Visitor's Center MP/L Megan Digeon
954-829-8494
megandigeon@gmail.com
Sun 12/4/16 Ocean to Lake Day Hike Riverbend Park         Approx 10.5 mi.  Limit 15 MP/M Megan Digeon 954-829-8494 megandigeon@gmail.com            Lynn Thompson 954-850-3668 ma12thom@bellsouth.net                                    Steve Galla 914-953-2222 steve@stevegalla.com
Wed 12/7/16 Morikami Museum and Japanese Gardens Delray MP/M Lynn Thompson 954-850-3668 ma12thom@bellsouth.net     Kathy Bonvouloir 954-234-5657
threebons@aol.com
Thu12/8/16 Chapter Meeting
Fern Forest Nature Center
201 Lyons Rd. South, Coconut Creek, FL 33063
7:30 PM
MP/L Megan Digeon
954-829-8494
megandigeon@gmail.com
Sat 12/10/16 Fern Forest Nature Center Work Day
at Fern Forest Nature Center 201 Lyons Rd. South,
Coconut Creek, FL 33063
9:00 AM - 12:00 PM
MP/L Kathleen Bonvouloir                 954-234-5657       threebons@aol.com
Sun 12/11/16 Canoe/Kayak Loxahatchee River from River Bend Park to 2nd dam and back to park
Limit 20 people
MP/S Kathy Bonvouloir 954-234-5657
threebons@aol.com
Dick Ward 954-536-3289 Wrddick@aol.com
Sat 12/17/16 to
Sun 12/18/16
FTA work hike basecamp Panther Camp  I75 mile marker 63 Big Cypress Natl. Preserve M/S Larry Alesi 561-445-9251 larrya1049@yahoo.com
David Denham 305-667-8643 ddenham@consultant.com
Fri 12/30/16 to
Sun 1/1/17
New Years basecamp and day hike  TBD MP/M Mike Thompson 561-290-9984
lamathompson@hotmail.com Lynn Thompson 954-850-3668
ma12thom@bellsouth.net
Sat 1/7/17 Day hike 9.5 mi.  Cypress Creek                    Management Area off Indiantown Rd                 Limit 15 Members First MF/M Mike Thompson 561-290-9984 Lamathompson@hotmail.com Lynn Thompson 954-850-3668 ma12thom@bellsouth.net             Steve Galla 914-953-2222 Steve@stevegalla.com
Sun 1/8/17 Day Trip to Vizcaya, Miami                                            to see new installations                                      Limit 20 Members First MF/L Lynn Thompson 954-850-3668 ma12thom@bellsouth.net            Esther Muram 954-658-8386 itailusa@gmail.com
Thu 1/12/17 Chapter Meeting
Fern Forest Nature Center
201 Lyons Rd. South, Coconut Creek, FL 33063
7:30 PM
MP/L Megan Digeon
954-829-8494
megandigeon@gmail.com
Sat 1/14/17
to
Mon 1/16/17
Overnight hike Dinner Island Ranch & OK Slough S/F  Limit 12 M/S David Denham 305-667-8643 ddenham@consultant.com             Larry Alesi 561-445-9251 larrya1049@yahoo.com
 
Wed 1/18/17 Day hike Grassy Waters    WPB MP/M Lynn Thompson 954-850-3668 ma12thom@bellsouth.net            Kathy Bonvouloir 954-234-5657
threebons@aol.com
Sat 1/21/17 Fern Forest Nature Center Work Day
at Fern Forest Nature Center 201 Lyons Rd. South,
Coconut Creek, FL 33063
9:00 AM - 12:00 PM
MP/L Kathleen Bonvouloir                 954-234-5657       threebons@aol.com
Sat 1/28/17
to
Sun 1/29/17
Annual Ladies  camping                                 Savannahs Recreation Area                                            Limit 20  Members First MF/M Kay Ferrara 954-609-4727 kayferrara@bellsouth.net
Kathy Bonvouloir 954-234-5657
threebons@aol.com
Sat 2/4/17 Slackpacking/Car Camping Lake Jackson Three Lakes Area Lake Jackson Campground Limit 8 people M/S Megan Digeon
954-829-8494
megandigeon@gmail.com
Thu 2/9/17 Chapter Meeting
Fern Forest Nature Center
201 Lyons Rd. South, Coconut Creek, FL 33063
7:30 PM
MP/L Megan Digeon
954-829-8494
megandigeon@gmail.com
Fri 2/10/17
to
Mon 2/13/17
4 Days Across the Preserve Backpacking                      
(~48 miles in 4 days)
Limit  12 people
M/S David Denham 305-667-8643 ddenham@consultant.com
Larry Alesi 561-445-9251 larrya1049@yahoo.com 
Sat 2/11/17
to
Sun 2/12/17
Carlton Reserve Overnight Backpack               Venice, FL Limit 12 people Members first MF/S Mike Thompson 561-290-9984
lamathompson@hotmail.com Lynn Thompson 954-850-3668
ma12thom@bellsouth.net
Sat 2/18/17
to
Sun 2/19/17
Overnight Backpack to DuPuis WMA               Limit 10  people Members first MF/S Lynn Thompson 954-850-3668
ma12thom@bellsouth.net
Mike Thompson 561-290-9984
lamathompson@hotmail.com 
Wed 2/22/17 Day hike Manatee Lagoon                               Riviera Beach MP/M Lynn Thompson 954-850-3668 ma12thom@bellsouth.net            Kathy Bonvouloir 954-234-5657
threebons@aol.com
Sat 2/25/17 Day hike to Gator Hook  Limit 15                                 Big Cypress National Preserve  MP/S Esther Muram 954-658-8386 itailusa@gmail.com              Kathy Bonvouloir 954-234-5657
threebons@aol.com             
 
Sun 2/26/17 Bear Island Mountain Bike ride 20 miles           Big Cypress National Preserve                       Bear Island Unit MP/S Janet Leasher 954-234-5657  janetleasher@hotmail.com            Kathy Bonvouloir 954-234-5657
threebons@aol.com
Sat 3/4/17  ? 40th Annual Waterway Cleanup at Deerfield Island  ? MP/M Kathy Bonvouloir 954-234-5657
threebons@aol.com
Lynn Thompson 954-850-3668
ma12thom@bellsouth.net
Sun 3/5/17 Bike Fakahatchee Strand MP/S  Janet Leasher 954-261-5836
janetleasher@hotmail.com  Esther Muram 954-658-8386 itailusa@gmail.com         
 
Wed 3/8/17 Day hike Arthur R Marshall  Loxahatchee Boynton Beach MP/M Lynn Thompson 954-850-3668 ma12thom@bellsouth.net            Kathy Bonvouloir 954-234-5657
threebons@aol.com
Thu 3/9/17 Chapter Meeting
Fern Forest Nature Center
201 Lyons Rd. South, Coconut Creek, FL 33063
7:30 PM
MP/L Megan Digeon
954-829-8494
megandigeon@gmail.com
Sat 3/11/17 Fern Forest Nature Center Work Day
at Fern Forest Nature Center 201 Lyons Rd. South,
Coconut Creek, FL 33063
9:00 AM - 12:00 PM
MP/L Kathleen Bonvouloir                 954-234-5657       threebons@aol.com
Sun 3/12/17 Day Hike Starvation Slough Micco Bluff Rd                        10 mile round trip                                                            Limit 10 Members First MF/S Mike Thompson 561-290-9984
lamathompson@hotmail.com Lynn Thompson 954-850-3668
ma12thom@bellsouth.net          Steve Galla 914-953-2222  Steve@stevegalla.com
Sat 3/18/17
to
Mon 3/20/17
Backpacking Fisheating Creek WMA 
Camp at Paridise Lake on Day 1
35 miles   Limit 12 people
M/S David Denham 305-667-8643 ddenham@consultant.com
Larry Alesi 561-445-9251 larrya1049@yahoo.com 
Sat 3/25/17
to
Sun 3/26/17
Ocean to Lake Overnight Backback                 Day 1 Riverbend Park to Kitching Creek 8.5 mi                 Day 2 Continue 8 mi to JD entrance                 Limit 12 Members only
 
M/S Megan Digeon
954-829-8494
megandigeon@gmail.com
Sat 4/1/17
 
Day Paddle Estero River   Limit 15 MP/M  Janet Leasher 954-261-5836
janetleasher@hotmail.com  Esther Muram 954-658-8386 itailusa@gmail.com         
 
Sat 4/8/17
 
Day Hike to Tarpon Lake & Looneyville BCNP  Limit 20  MP/M David Denham 305-667-8643
ddenham@consultant.com
Dick Ward 954-536-3289  Wrddick@aol.com
Wed 4/12/17 Day Hike Green Cay Wetlands               Delray Beach MP/M Lynn Thompson 954-850-3668 ma12thom@bellsouth.net            Kathy Bonvouloir 954-234-5657
threebons@aol.com
Thu 4/13/17 Chapter Meeting
Fern Forest Nature Center
201 Lyons Rd. South, Coconut Creek, FL 33063
7:30 PM
MP/L Megan Digeon
954-829-8494
megandigeon@gmail.com
Sun 4/15/17 Day Hike Bridge to Bridge BCNP approx 7 mi Limit 20 MP/M Dick Ward 954-536-3289  Wrddick@aol.com                   
Sun 4/30/17 Kayak/Snorkel John Pennecamp State Park     Limit 15 Members First MF/S Kathy Bonvouloir 954-234-5657
threebons@aol.com                 Kay Ferrara 954-609-4727 KayFerrara@bellsouth.net
Sat 5/6/17 Day Hike Looneyville to Last Resort  Limit 30 MP/M Megan Digeon 954-829-8494 megandigeon@gmail.com             Dick Ward 954-536-3289  Wrddick@aol.com
Thu 5/11/17 Chapter Meeting
Fern Forest Nature Center
201 Lyons Rd. South, Coconut Creek, FL 33063
7:30 PM
MP/L Megan Digeon
954-829-8494
megandigeon@gmail.com
Sat 5/27/17 Snorkel Phil Foster Park WPB                        Limit 20 Members First MF/S Lynn Thompson 954-850-3668  ma12thom@bellsouth.net             Kathy Bonvouloir 954-234-5657  threebons@aol.com
Sat 6/3/17 National Trails Day Hike at Fern Forest            walk boardwalk and visit nature center MP/L Kathy Bonvouloir 954-234-5657
threebons@aol.com                 Esther Muram 954-658-8386 itailusa@gmail.com